Career / fashion / List / Social Media / the blonde ensemble

10 Things I Learned From Cosmo’s Fashion Director

So, the coolest thing happened to me yesterday! As a requirement (pfffft. more like a belated Christmas present!) for my internship with CollegeFashionista, I was able to speak with Aya Kanai!

Aya Kanai is internationally known in the fashion industry as the Fashion Director for Cosmopolitan and Nylon magazine. In addition, Kanai is the Senior Fashion Editor for Teen Vogue and Head Stylist for Shopbop.com.

The conversation #fashiontalk started at 4 p.m. CT on Twitter and was hosted by the wonderful ladies at CollegeFashionista. As an intern for CollegeFashionista, my official title is “Style Guru.”  (For more info. click here)

Anyhow, the conversation lasted an hour and all Style Guru’s were required to participate and ask Kanai questions about the fashion industry and more!

Here is what I learned:

1. The fashion world isn’t always pretty.

2. Everything takes time.

3. Persistence is key.

4. How to take notes at fashion week.

5. Stay Calm and Network.

6. Extra time, money and effort is worth it. Sometimes.

7. Real recognize real.

8. Competition is fierce.

9. She’s my soul sister.

10. Aya. Kanai. Loves. Me.

*FANGIRLS*

xoxo,

The Blonde Ensemble

One thought on “10 Things I Learned From Cosmo’s Fashion Director

Leave A Reply